Day 21 – Never Worship Worship

Posted: May 3, 2010 in The Worship Dare

         Have you ever heard the term “to much of a good thing can be a bad thing?” How many of you know that ice cream is an incredibly good thing, but too much of it can lead to a range of complications from a stomach ache to a diabetic coma!

          Being a worship leader, I listen to many different types of worship music. Like most people, over the years I have developed a taste for it and have become somewhat judgmental of certain forms of music that I don’t particularly care for while praising the “worship artists” that are more to my own liking. I have my favorite worship leaders and when they are in the area I am excited to get the chance to be in service with them.

          There is something about being in worship and singing your favorite songs along with the person that God inspired to write it… but I must be careful. I must ask myself the question, “Am I worshiping God right now, or am I just excited over the worship that is going on?”

          Take a look at the book of Nehemiah:       

Nehemiah 9

5 “Stand up and bless the LORD your God
          Forever and ever!
          “ Blessed be Your glorious name,
           Which is exalted above all blessing and praise!
(NKJV)

          Above all blessing and praise, His name must be exalted. We must be careful not to be a greater fan of the blessing than we are of the one who gives us the blessing.

          Have you ever noticed that some people get excited over a particular song in worship? Maybe you’ve seen people worship with one worship leader and not another. This is not worshiping God… it is worshiping worship.

          God is the same God, yesterday, today, forever, on the mountain and in the valley. He can be praised on the guitar, the piano, the accordion, the ukulele, the drums or all of these combined.

          We may not personally enjoy certain forms of praise and worship music and that’s okay. We are blessed to be able to pick and choose our own music from a wide variety of styles and I am thankful for that… but God is still praised even in the style that I am not fond of.

          So if I am in an environment where the worship music is not my favorite, the same God that I worship is being lifted up and I must join in, because it is Him that I am worshiping.

          Likewise, if I am able to be in a worship setting with one of my favorite worship leaders, doing all of my favorite songs… my mind and heart must be focused on Jesus.

          Don’t get me wrong. I like diversity in music. I enjoy many different types. I dislike many different types. I believe that a person should find an environment where the style of worship is to their liking… not because one is greater than another, but because we need to be comfortable in the environment we are in, comfortable enough to express ourselves to our God without being annoyed by the sounds around us!

          But God is big enough to enjoy it all! He is big enough to inhabit all worship that is lifted to Him, whether it appeals to me or not. He is the same God in either setting. I will give Him the honor He is due.

PRAYER FOCUS

          God, You are worthy to be praised. Let Your praise be glorious as it flows from Your children as an outcry of love to You. May I never exalt one form of blessing above another, and never exalt any blessing above Your name. I love You.

DAILY DARE

          Tune in to a radio station that plays worship music. If that particular station plays a style that you don’t enjoy, listen for a while anyway and find the worship that is lifted there. Don’t be hampered by your personal taste. Then, tune in to or play a CD of music that you do enjoy. Thank God for the diversity that is in Him.

Leave a Reply

