Bob the Tomato

Posted: March 4, 2011 in Deep Thoughts from a Shallow Mind!

Hello, I’m Bob the Tomato…

Fans of Veggietales will not need any explanation as to who Bob the Tomato is, but everyone will probably be wondering why I would post something along these lines. Well, here goes!

A couple of years ago, I had a dream.  In this dream, I was talking to someone at our church about how much we had grown spiritually as a body and the conversation went as follows:

Friend –     “You know, I was just thinking how God has planted us all here together and, though the church has been in its infancy and struggling the past couple of years, I can see how we are all finally beginning to take root!”

Me –           “You really think so?”

Friend –    “Absolutely! Just look at how many of us have been searching for our place and matured and put down our roots and really are starting to blossom. Who knows what kinds of flowers God has planted each of us to be.”

Me-           “Yeah, I guess you’re right!” I said, smiling.

Just then, my “friend” had a change of expression. He or she seemed to be reeling, thinking maybe he/she had said too much, The happiness faded into a smuggness. The facial expression became one of contempt as he/she said, “Well, what kind of flower do you think you are?”

I didn’t even think about my answer. I said, “Oh, I’m not a flower… I am a tomato plant!”

It didn’t register with me until a while later when I was at church (for real this time) and told a different friend (not the one in the dream!) about what I had dreamt. Rather than a smug or condemning look, this friend smiled and said, “You know, most people think that a tomato is a vegetable, but it’s really a fruit.”

When you think about it, a tomato grows on a vine, like a grape… it even has a skin like a grape, so I guess it is fruity, but it sure feels like a vegetable. A few weeks back I even posted this on my facebook status: “Knowledge is knowing that a tomato is a fruit. Wisdom is knowing NOT to put one in the fruit salad!”

So, what was the problem with the friend in the dream? I mean, does everyone have to be a flower? If so, I am in trouble. Tomato plants do have little yellow flowers on them for a season, but if that little yellow flower is compared to a rose… well, guess who loses? I’m glad that there are flower gardens, vineyards, orchards, and vegetable gardens that bear the types of “fruit” that they are designed for. Hopefully, nobody ever expects an acorn to produce a watermelon!

So, in the world of fruits and vegetables, do you think the vegetables say, “Hey fruits! He’s supposed to be one of you… you guys take him!” Do the fruits call back, “No, he is clearly a vegetable, you guys keep him over there!”  Does it really matter? Shouldn’t the tomato, having no say in the matter, just be the best tomato it can be?

Here’s another thought: Not everybody likes tomatoes. I know, what a terrible thought! How could anyone not like tomatoes. They are delicious… that is just my opinion and everyone is entitled to share the same opinion as me!!

What I get out of the dream the most is that maybe I can be a little bit of it all. Sometimes a tomato has flowers… a tomato sure is good on a hamburger or in that garden salad… or it can be, strictly speaking, a high faluting fruit by pedigree and scientific classification if it so chooses!

So, to sum it all up… Hi, I’m Bob the tomato. I’m a flower, a fruit and a vegetable: Maybe I CAN do all things through Christ who gives me strength!

What say you?

Leave a Reply

